“I’m right and you’re wrong”

March 3, 2010

I’m giving up that attitude.

I think that we all suffer from it to some extent – some more than others. Unfortunately I am one of those others. Sometimes I greatly desire letting others know that I am right about everything. I want to be the person with all of the answers.

The truth is that I am not. The truth is that this attitude only makes other people less inclined to hear me. The truth is that it is a matter of my own pride. The most pressing truth of all though is that this attitude totally and completely distracts me from my relationship with God. I can easily become too busy defending my positions and in the meantime I neglect the things that I should be doing on this path to salvation.

So I am giving up this attitude. And I’ll be honest – it hurts a little. But I need to have a different motivation for learning about my faith. It can’t be just to prove someone else wrong and to prop myself up in the process. It must be a quest to know God and to worship Him in spirit and in truth. Anything else falls flat.

People in Protestant circles like to say “when we get to Heaven, such and such will happen.” In that vein of thought I have to recognize that when I get to Heaven no one is going to say “wow Liz, you were right about ____!” So I am letting go and concentrating instead on what is truly eternal.

Recently someone accused my husband of not having everything figure out. It’s true, he doesn’t. I don’t either. Who among us does? May I never pretend that I do. This blog is intended to be the chronicle of my journey and the things that I learn along the way. I will certainly discuss differences between Orthodoxy and heterodoxy, but I hope to handle these subjects with grace and clarity and never with a holier-than-thou attitude.

3 Responses to ““I’m right and you’re wrong””

  1. Sharon Riegel Says:

    Very Cool!


  2. […] is somewhat similar to what I was trying to say in my post “I’m right and you’re wrong.” I have witnessed certain people who have so much head-knowledge about God and they are quick to let […]


  3. […] is somewhat similar to what I was trying to say in my post “I’m right and you’re wrong.” I have witnessed certain people who have so much head-knowledge about God and they are quick to let […]


Leave a Reply

